6 months today! (We aren’t gonna make it)

Dear Little Guy, 

Today is huge. As of this morning you are 6 months old. You’ve been growing for 24 weeks now, and will be in this world in 16 weeks or less. The apps say that you now have lungs that could work on their own, your brain now processes conscious thoughts, and you have memory. 

You are thinking. You are hearing. You are reacting to stimuli. You are a little person. You exist. 

Mom and I are so ready for you to join our lives little buddy. We spend most of our free time wandering Baby stores, searching for perfect little things to add to your room, talking about the future, or wondering aloud about you. 

Time moves much faster now. It’s been well over 4 months since I’ve had a beer- and it seems like it’s only been a few weeks. The countdown to your birthday  on the kitchen wall used to say 200 days.. now it says 113. 87 days passed in a matter of hours. 

Everywhere I go I see babies. I never used to look at babies. When a stroller went by I never thought to look inside. When people brought their babies to work I never understood the hype. Babies all kind of looked alike- like little angry old men who don’t move or say much. 

It’s all changed. My son is coming. You. Now the days at work all run together, and the only time that matters is when mom and you are around. You kicking my head from inside moms tummy is more meaningful than breaking a record at work. 

I find myself daydreaming about how life will be once you get here. What happens if you poop while in the bathtub? Will you like baseball or football more? Will you be a Chargers fan like dad, or a Bucs fan since all you’ll know is Tampa? Will you be going to school in Tampa- or will we move again someday? When do I put the stroller together? 

I just can’t get my mind around all these changes. I can’t understand how I could feel so proud. You haven’t even done anything and I brag about you all day. I look at pictures of mom 35 times a day; first looking at how beautiful and alive she looks, then staring at her tummy and wondering what you are doing in there. 

So many changes. So much excitement. So much pride. So much love. 

You gotta hurry up little dude. Your mom and I are going crazy. 

Love, 

Dad 

Leave a Reply

