1st day at daycare 

Morning son, 

You’re laying in my arms right now taking a bottle. We both slept late this morning, probably because we were exhausted from yesterday- your first day at daycare. It was a change for all of us. 

Mom and I took you there in the morning and met your teachers. They were nice ladies that were excited to meet you. You already had a crib with your name on it, and a little cubbie spot for your supplies. They were all ready; mom and I were not. 

You seemed fine as we handed you over and you got situated in your little bouncer. You looked a bit suspicious, but ok. We chatted with the staff about the routine, what your day would be like, etc. Everything was going fine, until I gave them some advice: “if he gets cranky, just put on some baseball.” I wish I hadn’t said it, because the moment I did the same wall of emotion that hit me the day I found out we were having a C section that day hit me. The same crashing smash wave of tears that hit me when I heard you cry the first time.. the Tucker love. My boy. 

I tried to stay tough for mom so I fought it back. But once I got into my truck and out of moms sight I was a disaster. I couldn’t stop thinking about you sitting on my lap watching the Rays. You love it. Could be the announcer, the brightness of the images, who knows- but you never cry when baseball is on. 

So hard to let someone else have my little Bubbers all day. Argh. I love you son. You were on my mind all day yesterday. All day. 

You are finishing your bottle in your little crab outfit so I’m out of time to type. Off to day 2. Hopefully this one is easier. 

Love, 

Dad 

Leave a Reply

