Your first bedtime story 

Hello Lil’ Man,

You are 20 weeks and 1 day as of today, halfway to being born! You are the size of a banana, and weigh about 8.5 ounces according to the websites we read. You recently got taste buds. 

I worked yesterday, so it wasn’t a full weekend of posting notes to you. Today I took mom (and you by proxy) to breakfast at Cracker Barrel, then to a craft fair in Safety Harbor. I’ve never seen so many people crammed into a tiny place before. It was a little stressful because I was trying to guard moms tummy so no one bumped you, and mom thinks she is invincible. She just walks right through crowds and darts in between people. 

I guess I’m over protective. But you are precious cargo! 

We just laid down to bed a little bit ago, and I asked, actually more like told your momma that I wanted to read you a story tonight. I have no idea what you think when I try to talk to you, but hopefully you can hear me and know my voice already. 

Anyway, I went to your room, (yeah man! You have a room!) and I grabbed a book called Good Morning, Good Night. I snuggled up real close to moms tummy and put my mouth/face a few inches away from you. I opened the book and began, “arble-garble-mummph-aff-blarb-tarff.” 

Just kidding! I read you the story. But I like to imagine all you hear is nonsense in there. 

Anyway- it was nice to read to you. I hope you could hear me and enjoyed it too. 

Love you kiddo, 

Dad 

Leave a comment